Winners Announced For The 2020 BroadwayWorld South Africa Awards! Pieter Toerien, The Fugard & More Take Home Wins!

Winners have been announced for the 2020 BroadwayWorld South Africa Awards - which were back bigger than ever, celebrating the best in local theatre of the past decade!

The public submitted the nominees and voted for their favorites. Check out the results below!

The 2020 BroadwayWorld Regional Awards are presented by TodayTix.

Community theatre productions, student productions, and college productions were all included! (Please check respective category rules.) Eligibility was for productions which opened between 2011 and September 30th, 2020. Voting ran through December 31.

BroadwayWorld is committed to supporting local theatre in 2021 (and beyond!) If you have a show coming up we'd love to include you in our local listings. Submit one here.

Want to submit a news story/press release about your upcoming 2021 performances? Submit it here.

Are you a theatre industry member? Sign up for our Industry newsletter ! Join here.

Lookin for a digital theatre program solution for your upcoming season? Check out Stage Mag.

Want to be notified when nominations open for 2021? Sign up here!

Check Out The 2020 South Africa Award Winners!

Arts Educator Of The Decade

Best Dance Studio Of The Decade
Cape Dance Company

Best Ensemble
THE ROCKY HORROR SHOW - The Fugard - 2013

Best Pre/Post Show Dining (Restaurant)
The Fugard Theatre

Best Theatre Staff
The Fugard Theatre

Best Youth Theatre Camp/After School Program Of The Decade

Costume Design of the Decade
Birrie Le Roux - KINKY BOOTS - The Fugard - 2020

Dancer Of The Decade
Duane Alexander - JERSEY BOYS - Artscape Theatre - 2013

Director of a Musical of the Decade
Matthew Wild - THE ROCKY HORROR SHOW - The Fugard - 2013

Director of a Play of the Decade
Alan Committie - THE PLAY THAT GOES WRONG - Theatre on the Bay - 2017

Favorite Social Media
The Fugard Theatre

Lighting Design of the Decade
Gareth Hewitt Williams - THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME - Theatre on the Bay - 2018

Original Script Of The Decade
John Kani - KUNENE AND THE KING - The Fugard - 2019

Performer Of The Decade
Brendan van Rhyn - ROCKY HORROR - The Fugard - 2014

Production Of A Musical Of The Decade
THE ROCKY HORROR SHOW - The Fugard - 2013

Production Of A Play Of The Decade

Set Design Of The Decade
Paul Wills - KINKY BOOTS - The Fugard - 2019

Sound Design of the Decade
Mark Malherbe - KINKY BOOTS - The Fugard - 2019

Theatre Company Of The Decade
Pieter Toerien

Vocalist Of The Decade
Brendan Van Rhyn - THE ROCKEY HORROR SHOW - The Fugard - 2013

The 2020 Regional Awards are also brought to you by BroadwayWorld Stage Door!

Book your favorite stars from around the theater community from Broadway, West End, National Tours, Viral Stars, and more for video shout-outs, classes, and more. It's the perfect holiday gift for Broadway loving family, friends, or yourself!

Upon launch, we're featuring over 100 stars of the theater including Orfeh & Andy Karl, Aaron Lazar, Adam Jacobs, Adrienne Walker, Ali Ewoldt, Andrea Macasaet, Annelise May Baker, Arielle Jacobs, Bethany Tesarck, Bianca Marroquin, Brittney Johnson, Chilina Kennedy, CJ Pawlikowski, Corey Mach, Courtney Reed, Dana Steingold, Danny Becker, Danny Quadrino, Dee Roscioli, DeLaney Westfall, Adrianna Hicks, Desi Oakley, Devon Hadsell, Drew Gasparini, Drew Seeley, Edred Utomi, Elena Ricardo, Fergie L. Philippe, Gavin Lee, Haiden Pederson, Hannah Cruz, Jacqueline B. Arnold, Jared Goldsmith, Jenn Colella, JJ Niemann, John Bolton, Jonalyn Saxer, Kate Rockwell, Kerry Butler, Kristin Stokes, Krystina Alabado, Laura Osnes, Lauren Molina, Lauren Zakrin, Lesli Margherita, Liz Callaway, Laura Bell Bundy, Mandy Gonzalez, Taylor Louderman, Alice Ripley, Stephanie Torns, Mariah Rose Faith, Max von Essen, Megan Levine, Michael Lee Brown, Nic Rouleau, Nick Adams, Nico DeJesus, Patti Murin, Ryan Steele, Samantha Massell, Samantha Pauly, Sasha Hutchings, Syndee Winters, Telly Leung, Tommy Bracco, Tyler Joseph Ellis, Kyle Taylor Parker and Zachary Noah Piser. Plus more stars to be announced!

Book A Shoutout Today